Smiling for Miles

I think a smile is one of the most important pieces of running gear you can wear.

On June 23 I ran the Fairfield Half Marathon. It was a hot and sunny day and my time was my slowest ever for that distance (2:04:44). I still had a wonderful time with 5000 other runners as we moved along the coast of southern Connecticut.

Fairfield Half Image

It was a birthday present to myself. I know. Not many people think running 13.1 miles in 80+ degree temps and equal humidity would be much of a treat. Runners are a different breed. At the end of the race I took a picture of myself. I was smiling when I hit the button, but with the glare on the phone and noise around me I couldn’t tell when the picture was actually taken, so what I got was my face with a confused expression. And a lot of sweat.

Photo Jun 23, 10 38 08 AM

This post isn’t about a race result. It’s about attitude. It’s about putting a smile on your face and watching it light up someone else’s.

I started thinking about this subject because of Jersey Boy. He came into my earshot around the 10th or 11th mile and he kept a constant banter going as he ran along. He joked with other runners, spectators and the support people at the watering tables. Just listening to him brought a smile to my face as well as just about everyone around him. I saw him at the end of the race and thanked him for the entertainment. He had the same kind of expression I am sporting in my picture, but he smiled when I thanked him.

It got me thinking about how important keeping that kind of fun attitude is to having a good run. I am not as gregarious as Jersey Boy, but I do smile and say “Hi” to every runner, cyclist or pedestrian I see when I am out on the road.  If I come up from behind on someone I will make a comment about the weather or how the run feels. In almost every case I get a positive reaction and a smile back. Sometimes I get people flabbergasted because I am running in sandals. That is always fun

I also wave at every police car that passes. On one occasion I got a roof full of flashing lights in response. Regardless of the dark windows on the cars, police officers see everything on the road, so I know they see me. Every single time I wave I can see the wave come back. In the small town where I live, it is a way of making a connection that counts. I’ve been running here for twelve years and waving at the police the whole time. I am sure they know me by now. Hmmm.  I wonder if the NSA is intercepting my Sportstracker tweets?

There is also my virtual waving. On twitter I follow #running.  A couple of times a day I’ll watch fellow runners post their times, pictures, accomplishments, disappointments, goals, and thoughts. It is a worldwide community and very active. If I see a tweet that is interesting – someone who had a great run or who needs encouragement or just did something funny, I’ll send them a reply and make a comment. I’ve gotten to know some really good people by just sending a virtual smile.

hashtag running

What I love about this sport is that it is egalitarian. There is a sense that any run is legitimate and any runner is to be respected. I am certain there are prima donnas who whine about everything or look down on those less gifted. But, they are the minority. What I have seen is acceptance. And that is fine with me. We leave all the shit of life behind us when we run. That is reason enough to smile.

Run Free.

Leave a Reply

