A New Challenge

Here’s the deal. I am NOT going to be able to do my 60-at-60 running challenge right now. Here’s why…

I have arthritis in my hip.

Athritis-300x300That is a hard thing for me to admit. I’ve been fit and healthy most of my life. Running and cycling have been my primary means to that end and this development has shaken me a bit, but only a bit.

A few months ago I noticed the pain and did some self-diagnosis based on symptoms and what I read online. I was basically treating the pain as overuse injury expecting, like all the other injuries I’ve had, it would resolve itself and I’d be back on the road.

The pain did get more tolerable, but started to change. I mean it moved around. Kind of a galloping sensitivity. Some times I’d feel it down my thigh or across my knee or even down on my ankle or foot. That made me think nerves, so I went to the doctor.

He is a local orthopedist who supported a professional sports team at one time and understood athletics. He said I can keep running, just not long distance and that I would benefit from more cross training. I love cycling on par with running, so that isn’t going to be an issue. For the last two years I’ve focused mostly on running, and now will get back into the groove of cycling with my running. I may even take the jump into the water and start some swimming at the local Y.

It was cool to see the X-ray and the spurs near the joint as well as the lack of gap in the ball and cup area (meaning the cushion was gone). There is something relieving about knowing what source is. The orthopedic surgeon timelined my options based on pain and mobility. They go from ibuprofen (my current treatment) to cortisone to a hip replacement, or whatever they have for invasive surgery at that time. I usually don’t take any pain meds because I don’t want to mask my recovery. Plus, the pain, although irritating for someone who is very mobile and active, wasn’t so so bad that I couldn’t tolerate it. Knowing the arthritis isn’t going to go away, I am going to take ibuprofen more often, but not on a daily basis. The last run I went on was 3 miles a week ago. I am going to go back into more cushioned shoes but keep my minimalist form. My pace will be slower, but running is running, so I’m not really complaining.

I have made a commitment to the Hole in the Wall Gang Camps and I plan to find a way to keep it, just not this Fall.  They are a great organization doing something I really believe in, so it is important to me to keep to that commitment. Plus, they sent me a very cool running jersey, so I have motivation to keep it up. Maybe I’ll do a personal duathlon that maps to the 60 sentiment.

Team-Logo-Web-2013-copy2

The sun is out and it promises to be a nice spring day. I’m going to spin on my bike for a  while and then start on weekend chores. Maybe I’ll log a couple of easy miles  get started again. We’ll see.  I will keep you posted. I have never been good with motivational phrases. All I can tell you is that I see this as a challenge and I’ll find a way around it so I can keep my athletic sense of self while dealing with the reality of what my body needs.

Run free, easy and smooth. My new motto.

One thought on “A New Challenge

Leave a Reply

